Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buehl

Preparing the House for the Remodel & Asthma

Buehl
16 years ago

My son and I have asthma. DS is particularly allergic to dust...although that really means dust mites. However, b/c we have asthma our lungs are more sensitive to airborne dust, fumes, perfumes, etc.

Does anyone have any advice on preparing the house for the remodel? Since it's winter, we cannot block off the registers in our bedrooms. Will it help to cover the warm air & cold air returns on the first floor? I would think so, but I'm not an expert on ventilation.

Is there anything else we can do? (DS is afraid he'll have to wear a mask all the time...I'm trying to avoid that!)

And no, we don't have some place else to go for the duration--both our families live out of state.

Oh, demolition has been moved to Tuesday now! So, time is short as we race around getting ready. It's starting a month earlier than planned so it's thrown our plans off...but we will be glad to be done by Easter, or so we've been told.

[This is also why I've not been as helpful w/layouts this past week...sorry! I'll be back when things settle into a routine...if they ever do!]

Comments (11)

• quantumkitten
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have major respiratory issues, and my kitchen remodel has been a big issue for me healthwise. There's no escape from the dust in my place, because it's a loft space that's completely open. What I did was invest in a hardcore air purifier to remove as much of the dust from the air as possible. After much research, I got the IQAir HealthPro Plus, which seems to be as good a residential air purifier as one can buy. It's kind of big and expensive, but I'm sure I'd be in far worse shape without it here. I probably should have invested in one long ago, remodel or not, because of my sensitivity to airborne particles.