Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cawaps_gw

Historic home

cawaps
10 years ago

I found an interesting home for sale in San Francisco. Only $27 million (it's in the rather upscale Pacific Heights neighborhood, and check out those views!). I'm attaching the kitchen pics, but the link to the slide show is below. The house was built in 1905. I'm not an expert (by any means) but the interior seems mostly neoclassical to me, with some definite art deco bits (the mirrored hallway especially).

I think the woodwork in the kitchen is stunning, and, again, that view! It looks like a bit of a hike from the range to the fridge, from a practical standpoint. So many expensive homes have disappointing kitchens--do you think this one lives up to the rest of the house?

Link to slideshow

Comments (8)

• bpath
    10 years ago

Woodwork? What woodwork? I don't see any woodwork from out here on the balcony, looking out over the bay, New Year's champagne in hand. Rest of the house? In a minute, still looking out at the bay.

• joaniepoanie
    10 years ago

Dark cabs, dark counters, dark BS...not my style, but I'll take the view!

• bmorepanic
    10 years ago

I saw that house before ?Curbed? I think. There is a name for that style - sorta french townhouse, sorta empire revival but I can't remember what it is. My guess is they replaced the window wall - it is similar to some swoopy doors and circles over large glass panels on a few large homes around town, but not often enough to remember the name or its dates. There is something about the proportions that feels wrong tho.

It's a beautiful house, the kitchen has beautiful elements and I hate every piece of the kitchen except for the red tiles and the black la cornue pieces but I don't like the exact arrangement of those either. There's something about that range wall that reminds me of those buffet restaurants.

I don't know what I'm reacting to cause I'm deeply impressed by the wood working in the island. It's got a view to die for.