Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patrice607

DD graduating! What about insurance???

patrice607
17 years ago

I just got off the phone with our insurance company. DD will be off our insurance the night she graduates - 12/16.

Cobra is over $600/month. I have looked online and found a few short term policies but they are expensive and don't cover much. W'e be paying about $100/month with a $1,000 deductible. Any ideas/suggestions would be welcomed.

She is looking for a teaching job but I need a contingency plan just in case.

Comments (13)

• clg7067
    17 years ago

$100 sounds good to me. $600 sounds really high, I hope you have a good plan. I work as a retirement/health care actuary, so I see a lot of premiums that employers are charged for their employees' health care.

Now, back when I was 20 and needed temporary health care, I went to an insurance agent. I got a policy for $20 a month with a very large deductible. Since that was almost 30 years ago, I think $100 is very reasonable.

But still, go to an independent insurance agent and see what's available. There are also online resources that will find insurance for you. Since I don't know your zip code, I can't get a good comparison from one of those sites.

• kitchenobsessed
    17 years ago

Does DD's alumni association offer group medical insurance?

• sue36
    17 years ago

I also did a policy with a large deductible when I was in a similar situation. It was very cheap. I think the deductible was around $2500 or so. The idea is to cover catastrophic incidences (the type that bankrupt you or kill you), not smaller things.

• pecanpie
    17 years ago

patrice, they won't give you a grace period?

I'd ask- ours did for DivaD1 with a slight upcharge. I think they gave us 6 months, but we had to ask. They certainly didn't offer.

• housekeeping
    17 years ago