Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pecanpie_gw

Parents of teens/young adults- consider this

pecanpie
17 years ago

I've been meaning to share this, and the last couple of posts to Cup's thread jogged my memory.

This is a release I drew up when our son went off to school. The previous year, we learned the hard way what happens when an 18 YO child becomes suddenly ill, is unconscious and unable to give consent to share information with parents. Although my husband carried him into the ER and gave all the 'information' for admission, unless he was physically present with our son, his health status could "not" be communicated to us. Thank God we had compassionate doctors and nurses who thought the restrictions were restrictive and unfair and ignored them totally. :)

I am an attorney- in all likelihood I am not licensed to practice in your state- and although I drew this up as a legal document, I am not suggesting you use it as such, nor assuring you that it will be honored in your state. (just a little CYA- you know!)

I will remind you that if you abuse your adult child's right to medical privacy and use this to pry, snoop or otherwise poke your nose into business you have no business knowing,

a) you will wish you didn't know - and

b) your child should and probably will revoke consent.

We have copies on file with the pediatrician, which allows me to request immunization records/refills, etc. DH and I also have amended forms for each other, as his doctor's office is particularly snotty about 'speaking only with the patient'. DH does not have the time or the inclination to call to request records, schedule his own tests, appointments, etc., and if I don't do it for him, it doesn't get done...

Don't forget your 18YO+ child does NOT need your permission for medical treatment. Hope this gives some of you peace of mind!

Date______________