Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
3katz4me

tailoring clothes

3katz4me
17 years ago

This is probably a really naive question but I have no experience with this and I'm wondering what to expect. I've lost enough weight that my pants are a good size too big. I have some nice business attire that is quite new and I'd like to have the pants taken in to fit.

When you have tailoring like this done do the pants look "like new" - like nothing has been done? Or do they not look quite right after being taken in? I don't want to wreck the pants but on the other hand I can't really wear them as they are and in some cases they are part of a a suit so alot of clothing wasted if I don't get them tailored - unless I grow into them some day - which I'm hoping will not happen. Just wondering what I should expect.

Comments (10)

• fairegold
    17 years ago

I think it all depends on the skill of the tailor. The local guy who does my jeans hems for $5 will probably not do as good a job as the shop downtown that specialized in real tailoring and hand-made wedding gowns.

It is possible to alter things well. Just find someone who can do a good job of it.

My mother, who passed away last year at age 95, worked in a tailor's shop when she was in high school. If anyone could make a silk purse out of a sow's ear, it was my Mother.

• reno_fan
    17 years ago

A good tailor will make them look like new. They know how to take everything in proportionally, so as to avoid a bunchy look.

The only trouble is that sometimes tailored clothes fit so well, and look so good, you want to have all of your clothes tailored!

• weed30 St. Louis
    17 years ago

It depends on the skill of the tailor and the type of garment. I live in St. Louis, and I have a wonderful tailor. She is Russian, as are many tailors in this area. I am convinced they are the best.