Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashleysf_gw

Help - Hand mixer, food processor, stand mixer???

ashleysf
18 years ago

Growing up in a family of diabetics, we very seldom baked or made desserts at home as a consideration to those with severe diet restrictions. So, I have no exposure to baking.

Now that I am married to a man with a sweet tooth and who has cravings for dessert, I would like to start baking instead of serving store bought dessert frequently. I want to buy a mixer - I have seen chefs on TV shows use a hand mixer or a powerful food processor or a stand mixer. I am not sure which one I should get. Considering that I am a beginner to baking, what would be a good purchase for bread, cake and cookies? I am hoping to bake 2-3 times a month to begin with. Thanks for your help.

Comments (7)

• fairegold
    18 years ago

Different issues altogether. You can't easily do a tough cookie dough with a hand-held mixer, but you can do batters easily. A food process is a good tool for smaller amounts of a heavy dough. Real yeast dough, only a stand mixer or by hand.

In your shoes, I'd buy one machine and see how things go. Start with a $20 hand mixer and work on some cakes or brownies. A good stand mixer will be at least $250 unless you can spring a good deal (I have an extra... maybe we should talk?). And a good food processor will be $150+.

Did you ask this over on the Cooking Forum? No shortage of opinions and recipes over there!

• bungalowbees
    18 years ago

I think this is a good question for the Cooking Forum. Have you visited there?

I'm opinionated but for some reason I find this a hard question to answer. The answer depends as much on what your budget can afford as how often & why you'll use different gizmos. We all behave differently in the kitchen. I try to use as few gadgets as possible because I just don't like a lot of stuff. YMMV! For example, I prefer a knife to a food processor, and I knead bread by hand several times a week because I enjoy it.