Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snookums_gw

Poll - Should I go back to work?

snookums
18 years ago

A little bit of background: Before my 2nd child was born I worked as an elementary school teacher. When she was born I took a two-year leave of absence and then subsequently resigned to become a stay-at-home mom. At the same time I was working on my masters degree in education (never had the time or energy to do it while I was working). I completed that last spring. Over the summer, some of you may remember, my dh lost his job, which was a pretty good paying job at Disney, and about a month later started a new WONDERFUL job that he loves, but was a significant pay cut.

Looking at our finances, we break even minus about $400 a month, if we were to live as frugally as possible AND I up my ebay sales (I resell the kids' old clothes, esp, my daughter's, for a pretty good turnover). We have the liquid cash to make up that money until my dh moves to a better paying job or gets enough increases to cover it. We also have a good amount of savings via retirement plans and mutual funds and regular savings so we are by no means "in the hole," but we definitely aren't living within our means. Having to pull cash out of the bank for living expenses every month just doesn't seem kosher to us.