Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sue36_gw

What do you think of this? Discrimination against boys?

sue36
18 years ago

This article was in the Boston Globe today, and my initial gut reaction was that this was one of the dumbest things I have ever read.

A 17 year old boy a Milton High School (a very nice town) is suing because he says that boys are discriminated against in school. The honor roll is 64% female and the AP classes are 58% female. He says the girls outperform because "the school system favors them". He is apparently ignoring the vast data that shows the opposite is true - that boys get more personalized attention and get called on more.

It seems like it comes down to this: more boys than girls disrupt classes, don't do homework, and don't try especially hard in school. Since when is this new? I graduated from high school in 86 and all the top ranked were female. Same for DH's class in 77. In fact, in my parent's classes in the 50s the top ranked were female.

What does he want? He wants his grades "boosted" retroactively. He has an unspectacular 2.88 GPA.

What do you all think?

Here is a link that might be useful: Article

Comments (23)

• paigect
    18 years ago

I never would have believed I would say this before I had a boy of my own, but I agree with the premise that schools are set up to help girls succeed more than boys. I disagree, however, that the solution is to inflate boys' grades retroactively. How ridiculous.

Most boys find it exceedingly difficult to sit still. They aren't super listeners, and they learn more through action than book work or lectures. Yes, I'm generalizing - - there are plenty of exceptions. But IME, this is true for the majority. It has nothing to do with how these boys are raised, it's just the way they are. Believe me. I read to my son incessantly when he was young, but he still hates to read.