Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frkonalsh

Furnace and water heater vent

frkonalsh
11 years ago

Hello everyone. I am currently remodeling my home, I'm wondering what I need to do with my furnace and water heater vent, mostly what size vent I need to go with. I have a lot of construction experience. Framing, sheetrock, plumbing, and electrical. No hvac. So i am building a heat chase behind the new tub, I have a 12x12 inch area to run this vent thru. I know it needs to be rocked on the inside and sealed, with sheetmetal at peneotrations in the floor and ceiling. Neither my furnace or water heater are high efficiency. The furnace has a 5 inch vent. The water heater is brand new and has a 3 inch vent. Do I need to run 8 inch double walled pipe or can I use 6 inch? Also how high above the roof do I need to run the vent? It will be about 10th feet from the eve, which is a little less then have the length of the roof. I can not go to the peak of the roof because I put a bedroom in the attic space. Any info would be great. Thanks everyone.

Comments (8)

• juliekcmo
    11 years ago

This is a big deal. Get it wrong on anything and you will have issues with condensation ruining your equipment, or even carbon monoxide poisoning.

This requires a permit and inspection in most municipalities. Please consult your local codes, and gas venting code book.

If this is beyond your true expertise, I suggest you reach out to a qualified and licensed professional.

• frkonalsh
    Original Author
    11 years ago