Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
douglasr1_gw

Heat Pump Thermostat question

douglasr1
10 years ago

I have a heat pump w/ electric back up.
I have thermo stat set at 68, unit runs, thermo stat says 68, keeps running.
This happens only when it is below around 32 degrees.
seems like at night when the temp is in the 20's the heat pump runs all night with out turning off.
Could the stat be not calibrated, or be bad, letting it run after it has met its desired temp?
I'm new to heat pumps , as my last home had a gas furnace and ran until desired temp was met then turned off

any ideas

Thanks

Doug

Comments (7)

• dadoes
    10 years ago

32ðF-ish apparently is your system balance point ... the outdoor temp at which the heat pump's output matches the ambient heat loss ... so it runs continuously to maintain the target temp of 68ðF. That's not necessarily a bad thing. Depending on how low the outdoor temp gets (20ðFs), it's cycling the electric supplement to help maintain the 68ðF target.

• douglasr1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for your imput.
    So even when it's 20's outside it will run continuously to try to get heat out of the air? , and that's ok ?
    doesn't harm the unit to run nonstop?
    and its cheaper to let it run nonstop than have the back up heat on?

• dadoes
    10 years ago

Harm the unit, no. There's heat coming out of it, yes ... just not enough to fully satisfy the thermostat for cycling off. Your backup likely is already running some of the time. If the room temp dips far enough below the 68ðF setpoint (67ðF to 66ðF depending on the differential) the backup will trigger to make up the difference to almost 68ðF. The heat pump will continue running while the backup is on in such a case. The backup in this case is referred to as "supplementary" or "auxiliary."