Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anon1111

Heat Pump Usage Questions

anon1111
14 years ago

Hello, I am pretty new to heat pumps, and I have one with electric heat strips as auxiliary heat. Yesterday, when away for work, I set the temp down to 62, when I got home I turned it up to 68. During that time my aux. heat & heat pump came on and brought the temperature back up to about 65-66 at which point the auxiliary heat turned off. For the next 4-5 hours the heat pump was running solely & nonstop, but only able to raise the temperature a degree or two, never reaching the 68 before I went to bed, which I then turned the thermostat back down. During all this time, it was about 23 degrees outside. I thought it was inefficient to run the heat pump at this cold of a temperature, even more worse than the heat strips. So I am wondering this: Is this normal? Should a heat pump still be running at this outside temperature and lower? I mean it gets below 0 degrees here some days, should the heat pump be running at all at that temperature?

I called a local hvac company and they said it's ok, but I want a 2nd opinion.

Thank you.

Comments (7)

• neohioheatpump
    14 years ago