Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
macleodaj_gw

Noisy Compressor in Geothermal Heat Pump

macleodaj
17 years ago

I have installed a Cliamtemaster Tranquility 27 3 hp system and it is far from Tranquil. I have had it a year now and the noise of the compressor it still very troublesome. Climatemaster sent a noise absorbing jacket for the compressor but it is still so bad that we have trouble sleeping. Funny thing is, the noise is worse on stage 1 than on stage 2 and is fairly quiet during the summer when in cooling mode. We have had a faulty flow-valve replaced which was causing the backup heat system to come on frequently, and the noise seems evern worse now. I have noticed others in this forum with Climatemaster systems and wondered if anyone has experienced simiar noise issues.

Cheers,

Alistair

Comments (14)

• jackherrick
    16 years ago

I have a climatemaster also and my compressor stopped coming on. I had the company that installed it 6 years ago troubleshoot it. He installed a kickstart kit on the compressor and it worked for about a day. I called back the next day because the compressor was really noisy and no heat was coming out. Now I have a bad compressor and the repair is 1600.00. Of course the warranty is 5 years so Im thinking of a new unit or replacing the compressor. What should I do?

• fsq4cw
    16 years ago

Re: jackherrick

Your compressor problem is likely only a secondary symptom. The primary problem needs to be addressed in order to restore reliable service to the compressor. I base this observation on the fact that your compressor has run up till now for 6 years. So what changed causing your compressor to fail? This change is likely at the core of your problem. A compressor in a geothermal heat pump should have a life expectancy of about 20 years  not 6!