Return to the Heating & Air Conditioning Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Advice on Carrier Units and Costs

Posted by omahagirl (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 27, 11 at 18:08

I realize this is a busy time of year but I was hoping to obtain some advice on two Carrier Performance Series furnace and ac units and their respective costs. I try to do a lot of research on my own but this is a field where I have no experience and the amount of options and information is overwhelming and therefore, would greatly appreciate an expert's opinion.

The HVAC gentleman prepared 3 estimates, good, better and best. i am looking at the better option. Below are the quotes I received for the better and best options:

OPTION 1 - BETTER:
24ABC630A003 AC 16 SEER
59SP5A060E 96% Efficient Gas Furnace
Programmable Thermostat
Copper Line Set
PAD
Whip
Disconnect
PVC
Sheet Metal
Labor

TOTAL: $6065 with $400 tax credit
WITH HEAT PUMP: ADD $600 with a $500 tax credit.

OPTION 2 - BEST
24ANB736A003 AC 17 SEER
59MN7A060VI7-14 9% Efficient Gas Furnace
Copper Line Set
PAD
Whip
Disconnect
PVC
Sheet Metal
Labor

TOTAL: $10,060 with $400 tax credit
WITH HEAT PUMP: ADD $600 with a $500 tax credit.
$1,000 REBATE WITH AC
$1,100 REBATE HEAT PUMP

The estimates seemed a little high, but perhaps I am naive and already stretched financially. I have no problem paying a fair price for good work and integrity as I respect both immensely. Also, I really don't know if a heat pump is a good investment and would also appreciate advice on the purchase of one for the Omaha, NE area.

Thanks so much!
Monica

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Advice on Carrier Units and Costs

I did a little research on the Carrier model. Here is what I have come up with:

24ABC630A003 AC (Base model)
59SP5A060E Gas Furnace (Newest Performance model)