Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
squibby_gw

New Carrier Furnace

squibby
9 years ago

HVAC novice here so I appreciate everyone's guidance in advance ...my questions seem pretty general so perhaps this can help others in the process.

Here are the facts for my 1 zone system in NJ (2600 sq ft):

* Original York gas furnace is 16 years old, single stage, 80% AFUE, and 140k BTU's (input). It works but cycles on and off often, and maintenance checks show deteriorating performance each year. Had water leakage underneath recently, which I'm told was due to a busted condensate pump which needs replacement. Not sure if this affected the furnace in any way. I'm ready for a new one although I do wonder if I can squeeze more usage out of it.
* Humidifier is attached but I have no idea whether it works properly, nor would I notice whether it is on or off from a comfort standpoint as I can't exactly tell the difference between wet or dry air.
* 5 ton Carrier Performance AC is 7 years old. Maintenance performed annually and no issues to date.

I contacted 2 authorized Carrier dealers for furnace quotes. No Manual J calcs performed although I didn't ask. Both recommended 120k BTU's which would put output higher than existing furnace (115-118k @ 96-98% efficiency vs 112k at present based on 80% efficiency). Quotes were comparable in general, with one major difference. Dealer A (who installed the AC condenser and currently services it + the furnace) included new supply and return plenums for an added cost of $950. Dealer B's quote does not specifically mention new plenums so I assume they are excluded. Obviously Dealer B's quote is more attractive because of this.

Questions I have on this project are as follows:

1. Are new plenums recommended, in which case I assume Dealer B plans on using the existing ones? If not required, then is Dealer A trying to burden me with an unnecessary cost?