Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ratflinger

Mini split ceiling cassettes

ratflinger
11 years ago

Anyone had any experience with the cassettes? Seriously looking at mini splits (Mitsubishi is better represented in San Antonio) for new construction. We are fine with the wall units, but might consider the cassettes if performance is the same.

2nd ? - If I have a unit in the master BR that is sized to handle an area consisting of the MBR & Master bath will that be adequate or will I need a unit in the bath?

Comments (9)

• ionized_gw
    11 years ago

Check the manufacturer data, but I think that you will find that anything but the high wall units are less efficient.

Have you looked at the small air handlers for the MRr/bath combo? They take short ducts to condition more than one room. You would need a very large bath to install a separate unit. You could use a jump duct to move air from the bedroom to the bath.

• mic111
    11 years ago

We have two ceiling cassettes and three wall units.

The ceiling cassettes are very efficient. We use one to cool our main open floorplan and one to cool the master bedroom. We have a separate wall unit in the master bath. I'm really glad we have it because our bath is on the south side of the house and had two sky lights so gets tremendous thermal gain. If you leave the doors open between your bath and bedroom then it may be OK if your bath doesn't get alot of thermal gain. Also if you can position the unit so it throws air into both rooms that will help.

You can look at the specs. for the various units to check the efficiency, noise etc.

I couldn't find anyone to install the units with the ducting to different rooms. I think that is a good solution for smaller rooms and would have liked to do that. The ducted ones are less efficient because the ducts run though unconditioned attic space in most instances so they loose some of their cooling.