Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
balnh

Want to install gas stove where gas space heater is

balnh
10 years ago

I am looking to install a gas stove where I have a space heater. The heater is original to house I think. House was built in 61. Would this venting setup be adequate for a newer natural gas stove? The vent all the way to the right is where the space heater is vented. Hot water and furnace are vented into the flue as well. Any thoughts.

Comments (4)

• mike_home
    10 years ago

I am not an expert on ventilation so hopefully others which are more knowledgeable will also add their comments.

It seems strange you have a gas space heater installed next the furnace. It would seem you could be using the furnace to heat the basement.

Having a common flue tied to the heater, hot water heater, and furnace does not look right to me. I think it is a dangerous set up.

I don't like the idea of having an open flame gas stove sitting next to a hot water heater and furnace. How big a stove in BTU are you considering? The exhaust should not be tied into the flue. If it a commercial stove then it may need an exhaust hood going out the side of the house. You may also need to bring in combustion air. You may have a combustion air deficiency when all three appliances are firing at maximum.

As a side note, did you install the cold and hot water mixing valve. Is this a code requirement in your area?

• balnh
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The space heater is in finished basement. Furnace is in unfinished utility room. I'm looking at heating stoves to replace the space heater. The house is by no means airtight. Next to finished basement is a under house garage. I really was just looking to warm floors of the first floor. Space heater went about 2 years ago. Was just hoping I can drop another b vent heater in old heaters place as gas hook up is there. Yes that mixer was installed when hot water tank went 4 years ago. I've been in house for 5.. Thanks for response