Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pyrochief

Price to Replace System with XL14c or XL16c

Pyrochief
11 years ago

Need some help from the forum regarding replacing an existing HVAC system. I have an extensive background in electronics systems and work with government contracts so I'm familiar with cost estimates and profit margins, but I have no real experience with costs to replace home HVAC systems.

Presently, we have a Goodman 4 ton Heatpump with electric backup. This unit is about 6 years old and the AC part works OK, but my family is just not happy with using the electric backup and the heatpump puts out dismal heat below about 35-40 degrees. Our house is about 2200 sq ft, and located in Norteast North Carolina.

Received quotes below for a replacement system.

1. Trane XL16c - Total price after all rebates and discounts = $12,275.00 (add $400 if we finance @0% for 60 months)

1- Trane 4DCZ6048A1096B XL16c 2 stage Hybrid Gas Package Unit 16.0 SEER/ 12.0 EER/ 9.0hspf

1- Trane TCONT 803 Thermostat

1- Trane TAYWAR10 10 year parts and labor warranty

1- One year maintenance contract 2 visits

*- Connect using all existing ductwork

*- Replace existing wood frame ground support stand with new salt treated boards and install plastic isolation pad

*- Run propane gas line from HVAC unit to gas company meter

*- Reconnect existing electrical

*- Install new wallshield and seal wall joint

*- Repair minor rodent damage on existing flexible ductwork under crawlspace

2. Trane XL14c - Total price after all rebates and discounts = $10,975.00 (add $200 if we finance @0% for 60 months)

1- Trane 4DCY4048A1096B XL14c 1 stage Hybrid Gas Package Unit 14.0 SEER/ 12.0 EER/ 8.0hspf

1- Trane TCONT 803 Thermostat

1- Trane TAYWAR10 10 year parts and labor warranty

1- One year maintenance contract 2 visits

*- Connect using all existing ductwork

*- Replace existing wood frame ground support stand with new salt treated boards and install plastic isolation pad