Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pecanwaffle_gw

My Cooling Odyssey

PecanWaffle
10 years ago

Hi HVAC Folks,

I am fairly new homeowner of an existing single story 2250 sq. ft. home in Auburn, AL. We are on the border between what I think is referred to as Zone 1 and Zone 2.

I have had some horrific cooling experiences. See http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/hvac/msg0809362210118.html?12 for more detail.

I have been on an OCD rampage to get my unconditioned attic as cool as possible. The unconditioned attic is where the ductwork for my Trane 5 ton 14 SEER HP is located - as is the inside unit; laying on its side in the unconditioned attic.

When I first moved in, the entire attic of this home was ventilated by two anemic looking power vents and 22 soffit vents. Attic temps exceeded 145 degrees F (highest my therm would read).

Earlier this summer, in conjunction with a new roof, I had the roofers rip out the power vents and install ridge vents.

I want to reduce ambient air heat load on the inside A/C unit as much as possible. It is literally an oven in my attic.

My next plan is to ensure all the soffits are, in fact, clear and open to air flow (I later plan to install baffles and blow in insulation to R-40). I know insulating the attic floor will not help the attic unit's situation, just reduce the heat transfer from the cooled space below.

However, before I improve the insulation in the attic floor, I am considering installing a radiant barrier along the underside of the roof rafters.

My roof pitch is somewhere between a 5 and 6. Multiple spray foam insulation contractors have told me the roof pitch is too low to spray insulating foam in. It makes me wonder about the efficacy of a radiant barrier.

Given my low pitch roof, would a radiant barrier appreciably help lower my attic temperatures?

Any advice is much appreciated in advance.

Thanks,
PW

Comments (3)

• mike_home
    10 years ago