Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cttrobough

Oil boiler VS propane furnace VS propane boiler

cttrobough
11 years ago

I am renovating a house built in 1977 in Ohio. I have too many choices to make and my head is swimming with all the different options.

The central A/C needs replacing, so we are getting a heat pump. With the heat pump, we would also need an air handler, but I was told that a furnace also functions as an air handler. So for just an additional $200-300 more I could have a propane furnace?

Currently the heat is a Smith oil boiler with baseboard radiators. I've heard this heat is great, but every house I've ever lived in has had forced air heating, so I have no experience. I have no idea how old the boiler is or how efficient it is.

The way I see it I have 3 choices:

1. For only $200-300, get a propane furnace. Scrap the oil boiler, radiators, and oil drums.

2. Replace the oil boiler with a propane boiler. Estimated cost would be $6-8k. I'm sure a new propane boiler would be more efficient than the current oil and I would save in upkeep.

3. Keep the oil boiler, but I would have to pay for cleaning, tune-up. I would also have to pay to re-run the flue (the current one is corroded, so the previous owners had been basically venting the boiler to the attic, surprised no one died)

Any suggestions?

Comments (4)

• neohioheatpump
    11 years ago

IF you have vents you have the right idea with getting a heatpump instead of straight A/C.

Get a good high efficient single stage heat pump with demand defrost. This will handle a big majority of your heating. 15 seer would be good. I would want one that is one the quiet side since it will be running alot. Having a compressor blanket is a must.

The propane option sounds nice, but propane is not cheap either. You would probably be better off with straight electric element as backup (probably just as expensive as oil or propane).