Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raf007

Need an Idea of what it's going to cost to Fix AC

raf007
9 years ago

Well i'm a newbie here so go easy on me, I live in Florida so AC is pretty much a must so i'm kinda in a bind here. Before i make a service call i would love to know if any experts here can tell me if it's going to cost me a lot to fix. Basically a few days ago it stopped blowing any cold air no matter how low i set the thermostat. Friend looked at it said it might be freon that it needs, but he's no expert.

Since it's central air there is an inside unit and i notice that water(liquid) is leaking from it, not a lot of it but enough to notice. Just today the thermostat went kaput, blank display and it doesn't take batteries either i've checked. So basically that's it, i've tried to stick it out with no AC but because i'm a student i don't have that much money to throw around.

If anyone has any experience or has had something like this happen to their AC what should i expect? is it going to break the bank for me to fix it?

Comments (4)

• tigerdunes
    9 years ago

Sounds to me there are 2 issues here. First a bad thermostat, next problem at condenser. Really not enough info here to say. If it's not a failed compressor and nothing in control cabinet damaged such as wiring, the cost to fix could be up to $500 but that takes in bad case scenario. Could be much less. If it is a leak, do not accept a gas n go without determining where leak is located and if it is repairable.

How old is system? When was it last service?

IMO

• raf007
    Original Author
    9 years ago