Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coachgt1

Suggestions for upstairs AC/Air Handler replacement

coachgt1
10 years ago

We are having issues with a 2 Ton AC/Air Handler Unit. The house has zoned AC with a separate unit and gas heat pump in the basement. The unit for the upstairs is the problem. We have a freon leak and it could be in the evaporator coils. I've been told I would be better off replacing the outside compressor and the unit in the attic rather than replacing just the evaporator coils.

So my question is, what are some of the things I need to look for/ask when bringing people in for quotes? This unit is just for the upstairs and provides the AC and the forced air heat for the second floor. Assuming the 2 Ton unit is sized correctly, what kind of price range should I expect to see. I want to make sure I'm not being undersold or overcharged.

This is my first time on this site so if I've asked the question in the wrong place or incorrectly please let me know.

Thank you.

Comments (7)

• tigerdunes
    10 years ago

What is location?

Prices vary depending on many factors including location and whether you live in a competitive marketplace. Generally I use $2500/ton for a decent system. Special installation hurdles can add to price.

If you are replacing a HP condenser with air handler in the attic, here is my general spec sheet.

New Heat Pump System
    both outside and inside units should be replaced to have a properly matched system.

15 SEER, 12.5+ EER, 9 HSPF
    best matching VS air handler
    full BTUs in both cooling and heating for your rated size
    R-410a refrigerant(same as Puron)
    scroll compressor preferred
    electronic demand defrost preferred
    thermostat with "dehumidify on demand" feature
    staged backup heat strips
    new and correctly sized refrigerant lineset
    10 yr warranty on parts and compressor