Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
apg4

My air conditioner isn't working...

apg4
9 years ago

...like it used to. It's a 16,000 BTu, relatively-new Samsung window unit that has done a pretty good job of cooling half of our under 1,000 square foot house.

I'm a reasonably adept mechanic (did the upgrade to a 200 amp panel box, re-plumbed the furnace last winter, have a dependable 42 y.o. Land-Rover as a daily driver, and can field-strip an M-1 Garrand or a Zenith carbureator blindfolded), so "recharging" a sealed-system window unit isn't a challenge.

But before that, I thought I'd pull the unit out and give the fins of both the evap and condensing coils good cleaning with compressed air. Hose 'em with a mild detergent of some type or maybe a solvent. I know some detergents are basic - like SimpleGreen - and aren't friendly to aluminium. Are there any solutions specifically useful for this task?

Cheers

Comments (4)

• apg4
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Cleaned the coils, through they were pretty clean to begin with. One clue: the condensate pan was virtually dry and the coils are mostly warm w/ only a few inches actually cold/cool...which is why I suspected that the refrigerant was low to begin with. Of course, no one seems to want to work on window units these days. The Samsung is only five years old, while a former Fedders that came with the house when purchased 30 years ago was already a decade old and served well for another ten. I guess that don't make 'em like they used to....

With R-22 being phased out and its exponential jump in price, I guess no one wants to bother with older units. Even the web-advertised "DuraCool" product becomes illegal in the US after July 31. I really hate having to scrap something after just 5 years. I want things to last like my Land-Rover or Vermont Castings wood stove....

This post was edited by apg4 on Mon, Jul 14, 14 at 15:05

• ionized_gw
    9 years ago

"I guess that don't make 'em like they used to..."