Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
justdoinmything

Choosing new system

justdoinmything
11 years ago

I am a newbie on GW. I have been reading posts on several of the forums for over a year now and feel confident I can get great info here. There are several experts on this forum that I would appreciate any advice you may have for me.

I am in the process of getting estimates on replacing my 20 year old Tempstar units. They have only needed minor repair over this period and are currently still working.

My home is located in DE and is a single story 1300 sf about 50 years old. My current system is 80% 100,000 btu with a 2 1/2 ton 10 seer AC.

I have 3 quotes so far:

Tempstar: $6,000

F8MVL0901717 90,000BTU 80% AFLU

TXA530GK 2 1/1 TON 16 SEER

END4X31C17 2 1/2 TON 16 SEER

No stat model given

Trane: $8,000

TDH2B080A9V3VA 80,000 BTU

4TTB4030E1000B 2 1/2 TON

4TXCB031BC3ABC

No stat model given (although listed a 2 stage in quote)

Arcoaire: $13,000

80% AFLU furnace - 13 SEER air cond. No model numbers were given in quote. I have requested specific info but have not yet received it.

I am planning to also get a Rheem quote but everyone is extremely busy right now.

Thanks for your help.

Comments (11)

• mike_home
    11 years ago

The Arcoaire quote is ridiculous. I would avoid the Tempstar.

Is the furnace located in the attic? If not, then why are you not looking at 90%+ efficiency furnaces?

If your equipment is currently working, then I suggest you wait until September 1 to get additional quotes. It has been very hot in the mid-Atlantic region lately. The HVAC contractors are very busy and are not going to give you much attention. The rebates will also start up in the fall. You will get a little better price and a contractor who has time to give you a thorough quote.

• justdoinmything
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Mike for your comments.