Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bus_driver

Mysterious problem

bus_driver
10 years ago

HVAC is not my trade. I am a competent electrician.
2- ton Trane XR-12 heat pump about 10 years old. Set to cool at 75 deg, thermostat was set to OFF for about an hour the night before. This one serves the second floor. The unit for the first floor was and is working normally.
The inside air handler fan was running, room temperature had risen to 80. Nothing running at the condenser unit. Remove cover and look at the capacitors-- which look OK. Push the contactor on the relay and the unit starts, both fan and compressor. But the contactor does not hold. Go to get my voltmeter. Phone rings in the house, so some delay in getting back to the condenser. When I get back with the voltmeter, the unit is running and cooling!!!! No problem since then.
No power outages here for the past several days.
Any ideas about what caused this condenser unit to stop working for several hours and then to resume operation as explained above?

Comments (11)

• mike_home
    10 years ago

My thinking is either the contactor is beginning to fail, or the thermostat and/or wiring is not energizing the contactor relay.

If it happens again see if you are getting 24 volts at the contactor terminal. This will determine whether the problem is the contactor itself or the control wiring.

This post was edited by mike_home on Sat, Jun 29, 13 at 23:19

• bus_driver
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Should the control voltage at the contactor be 24 volts? Since it is now working, and rain looked imminent, I just replaced the cover panel and moved on to other things.

• fsq4cw
    10 years ago

Probably is 24v. Whatever it's supposed to be will be indicated on the relay itself.

SR

• fluffybunnysui
    10 years ago