Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_20154907

AC problem - confused lookin for help

User
9 years ago

Hi,

I am not an expert on refrigeration, but will try to describe the situation with my HVAC system as well as I can. It is a Lennox conventional gas furnace/electric AC installed in my 3,000 square foot woodworking shop in April 1999. The system has been serviced regularly, twice per year most years and last checkup everything passed inspection. The condensing unit is an Elite Series HS29, 3.5 ton, single phase 240v.. Most cooling is directed to a 1,000 sq. ft. office/gallery, and a 600 sq. ft. bench room. I did not intend to air condition my machine room, but had some registers added to the inside duct work mainly to help control humidity. However, because we insulated with isonyne foam, the system has cooled the entire space, maybe with the machine room a bit less comfortable than the rest. The condenser is about 50 feet from the evaporator-tubing run on surface of shop walls.

The system has performed without problems until the outdoor breaker tripped, and one leg did not disconnect. When the system was checked it was buzzing rather than starting, and the tech said that that was responsible for damaging the compressor. (I was amazed that there was not an overload device on the compressor notor). The breaker was replaced and the compressor now runs, but does not cool adequately. Not sure if I can transcribe this correctly but the tech�s gauges were reading 0/100, he added 4 lb. R-22 and it went to 40/125 dropping to 30 after running. The temperature outside was probably in the low 90�s. The diagnosis was internal damage to the compressor, and that has been confirmed by a second company.