Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
harry_nj_gw

HVAC upgrade or Geothermal?

harry_nj
9 years ago

Hello everyone, I am new to gardenweb. and looking to get some views on my situation. My home has 2 furnaces and they are pretty old. Can die anytime !

I already am familiar with upgrading the conventional hvac and know how much should it costs. approx 25K
So I am looking to get estimates in central nj for geothermal.

However I want to know what kind of figures I should expect for my 3500 sq ft home and has a half an acre of space around it.

Comments (55)

• mike_home
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The OP has natural gas and electricity prices have held steady at $0.18 per kWh. The Greenspeed would not be cost effective.

• tigerdunes
    9 years ago

Posted by harry_nj (My Page) on Fri, May 2, 14 at 14:03

Using gas but both the furnaces are 25 yrs old

Electric is 11c/kwh

I am trying to estimates for geothermal and they seem to be in the range of 60000 without even looking at the house.

Note pricing of electric.

I don't think anyone should consider Geothermal without carefully weighing cost difference with a GreenSpeed system.

IMO

• bsmith
    9 years ago

There are still Federal tax credits available for geothermal, but 30% of crazy expensive is still expensive. You might find someone who can excavate cheaper, my quotes were in the 50-55K range before any credits.

I decided to go with a Carrier Greenspeed and then take the additional money and go solar in a few years. This region's energy prices have been all over the map, from .08-.37kwh and 1.38-3.78therm, so it's tough to make a 'perfect' decision.

Another good variable speed heatpump is the IQ Drive made by Noradyne and sold under a host of names, including Amana, Fridgidaire, Westinghouse etc.. It uses a Panasonic variable speed instead of a Copeland. Might be a good option if there's a dealer in your area.