Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patpaxton_gw

Mechanically unfit home owner needs help!

patpaxton
9 years ago

Hey guys...need opinions on which central air system to go with. I'm in Massachusetts. Quotes I'm considering:
Lennox XC17 Signature Series Condenser w/CBX32mv Signature Series Air Handler. $8,075 installed. Includes the usual haul away, all obvious work, thermostat.
Carrier Infinity Series 24anb136a003 condenser w/Carrier Infinity Series fe4anf005000 air handler. $8,515. Also includes usual labor and a thermostat. Both quotes include all applicable rebates.
Any input/thoughts would be greatly appreciated. As the subject line says..I have no knowledge about any of this stuff. Both contractors are highly rated and seemingly very capable. Thanks!!

Comments (19)

• tigerdunes
    9 years ago

Carrier quote includes Infinity controller? It should. No substitution allowed.

Just curious, how do you heat? Boiler? What fuel?

New lineset? Or Flushing old? This is replacement system? What size?

Post back.

IMO

• patpaxton
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Yes, includes Infinity controller (assume controller means theromstat). Model # is systxccitn01 (non wifi). Heat is boiler/gas. Lineset will be new. Yes, replacement system in a 2 zone home. This is for the 2nd floor. Replacing a 3 1/2 ton unit that was original to the home 17 years ago.

• mike_home
    9 years ago

The price you were quote for the Carrier is a bit high. Part of the reason is because it is currently Carrier's top of the line AC condenser.

I think the Carrier 24anb1 condenser is overkill for a location like Mass. The Infinity 24anb7 or even the Performance 24acb7 should be fine.

• tigerdunes
    9 years ago

Assuming you are sized correctly, both systems are premium systems. The Carrier condenser is two stage while the Lennox is sgl stage. I would give the edge to Carrier. I would ask Carrier dealer to match the Lennox price.