Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
twistd_gw

Opinions on Quote

TwistD
10 years ago

Hi all,

First time having to replace a system. Our heat pump and air handler are at EOL and I have my first quote for replacements, was hoping some folks here can give their input on how well it prices, alternatives, and other thoughts to chew on. Don't have much history on the current equipment because we just purchased the home last fall. But I can say it's not it good condition.

Heat Pump: Carrier 25HCC536 (15/16 SEER, 9 HSPF)
Air Handler: Carrier FV4CN5002 + 15kw Strip
10yr Parts

for a little over $6000.

Location is Northern VA with about 2000 sq ft. Personally it feels a bit pricey but I'm not experienced in this arena so I honestly have no idea what a typical price range is, or quality for that matter. Other than these Carrier items fall in the mid range of available equipment, so the inter-webs say.

Lots of good information browsing the forums here so I'm hoping for a good collection of opinions.

I found a link in the forums from last year referencing the air handler :
http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/hvac/msg1108345621557.html?31

Price from that link states $5.5-6k in same area (NOVA). I guess it's close, but that was Nov '12, I'd think pricing would come down a bit in over a year...maybe not though.

I appreciate your time.

Thank you.

Comments (8)

• sktn77a
    10 years ago

WeI just got the 25HCD336/FV4CNF005 with 15kw strip installed for $3700 (with the return duct and filter grill enlarged). The 25HCC536 would have been about $500 more. Recommend the same 005 air handler for your installation if it will fit (better SEER/HSPF numbers). We also got the Carrier 10 year labor warranty, to supplement to 10 years parts warranty, for $550. That was in the Roanoke, VA area. Unfortunately, prices are regional so the only way to really know if you're getting a good deal is to get several estimates.

This post was edited by sktn77a on Wed, Feb 26, 14 at 21:29