Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pjs755gw

Mini split or central air? Be gentle, I'm a newbie

pjs755
11 years ago

Okay, pretend you're talking to a moron and this will work fine.

We live in CT. The house is 27 yrs old, and has baseboard hot water heat. There is no duct work. The house is a colonial, with the main structure 2200sq feet, and a 500 sq foot great room above the garage. Basement and attic are unfinished. We will be installing Low E windows this spring. The lot is heavily treed.

We got a quote right when we moved in for central air 21k to 24k, depending on the equipment we chose. We saw a guy at a home show who said he'd do it for 13k, one unit, ducts run thru the closets.

And where do mini splits fit in? Are they a viable option?

I need an education is what this all boils down to. Tell me what I need to know to make an intelligent choice

pjs755

Comments (8)

• tigerdunes
    11 years ago

Two story colonial?

Generally, mini splits are used when installing ductwork is not a viable option.

If comfort is important to you and you are able to install ductwork system, then two separate systems would be best if you have two stories which I suspect you have. I will assume ductwork could be installed for downstairs zone in the basement and ductwork could be installed in the attic for upstairs system. In your situation, that would be best if practical.

Tell us how much you would use AC cooling in the summer. Do you bave window units now or just perhaps a whole house attic fan or maybe nothing?

Post back.

IMO

• pjs755
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Yes, two stories except the great room.

We have window units and a wall unit in the great room.

Duct work could be run through the attic and the basement.

It's Connecticut, so even during the week June, July, August we'll at least run the A/C in the great room so the dogs don't roast. Absolutely they A/C is on while we sleep during those months.

The first quote we got was for two systems.