Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paul500_gw

Strange ductwork - Supply connected to return???

Paul500
11 years ago

I have an older home that has had many previous owners, and I am trying to understand a strange run of ductwork at my furnace. There is a circular duct (near top of photo) about 10" in diameter that connects directly to the return plenum of my furnace. The strange thing about it is that is comes right off a supply duct about 5 or 6 feet away to the left. What could possibly be the purpose of this? My only guess is that either the return was starved or to heat/cool the return air before it enters the furnace. I am no HVAC professional, but those would not be legitimate reasons, right? If so, what could it be possibly for? It also has a damper on it, and I accidentally nudged it, so not sure to leave it open or closed. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks.

Comments (9)

• SaltiDawg
    11 years ago

Just a homeowner here, but it sounds like this is the bypass that houses your furnace's humidifier. In heating season, the damper would be open allowing some warm air to return to the return side picking up moisture from the humidifier on the way.

During cooling season this damper would be shut.

• fluffybunnysui
    11 years ago

Some of the older homes in my part of the country have very old metal duct systems that were originally sized for heating only. When they finally install a full central system, they find they have too large of a cooling system... so they install these bypass trunks to dump the extra air back into the return. I dont have my ductulator handy but i imagine that 10" will be around 300-350cfm of air. Close the damper and see if your vents become noisy (cooling mode).

Hope that helps

• ionized_gw
    11 years ago

I understand that bypasses are sometimes used on zoned systems.

• Paul500
    Original Author
    11 years ago