Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeanniemer

Pex Installed On AC Duct?

JeannieMer
11 years ago

My HVAC contractor has installed the pex for the radiators on the A/C ducts as shown in the picture below. Is this normal? Anything that I should be aware of or should mention to the contractor? Thank you.

Comments (16)

• juliekcmo
    11 years ago

So they put a hole in your duct, instead of strapping to the floor joist? I am no duct install expert, but I question that.

• david_cary
    11 years ago

Interesting. Around here Pex would only be on supply lines and only installed by a plumber. PVC would be used for condensate drains. No way would a plumber screw into a duct. The pex doesn't appear to be strapped at frequent enough intervals.

That uninsulated duct looks to be in unconditioned area - certainly not code.

The hole in the duct is probably well sealed by the screw but it doesn't seem ideal.

• big_al_41
    11 years ago

Also .. and I'm no expert .. but it seems that they moved the duct from about 2 feet away to it's present position ( right to left ) and just used metal foil tape to cover the original hole .. I don't think that will stand up to the test of time

• energy_rater_la
    11 years ago

these are questions to ask hvac installer
    plumber & possibly builder.

not enough info for us to make the call.

best of luck.

• david_cary
    11 years ago

I bet there is a metal cover plate and then tape to hold it on.

• countryboymo
    11 years ago