Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reliabilityman

Emergency Furnace Wiring Question?

reliabilityman
17 years ago

Hi, I am stuck in this great ice storm that is sweeping the nation. I have reports from my city leaders that it may be 2 weeks before we recieve power again. I have been living off a 5000 watt generator for 4 days now in one room of the house, but the rest of the house has dropped to 40F. Outside it is single digets today. I had a thought today on how to get my gas furnace back on, but I am not an electrician, but have wired up some garage fixtures etc. Enough to sort of know what I am doing. But I want to shoot this out to all who read and hopefully provide me with some feedback. Currently my furnace is fed from the outside pole through the breaker box, through a 15AMP breaker to the furnace. I thought I could shut the power off at the breaker, remove the wire on the side to the furnace, install a 110 V plug to the wire and plug it into my 5000 watt generator to get the furnace on. The only thing the furnace relies on is the electronic ignition, 1/3 HP 1.3 AMP blower motor, and low voltage for the thermostat. All the controls tend to be on the inside of the furnace. The only thing I was planning to do is to provide the 110 from the generator and not the pole like normal. My wife thinks I will burn the house down, but I am getting desperate. Any thoughts or does this sound like a real bad idea? I really don't think the gas furnace draws much at all since it is on a 15AMP breaker.

Thanks

Comments (11)

• bob_brown
    17 years ago

Hello,
    You are going in the right direction. Disconnect the power to the furnace. This is a 110vac connection. The draw is probably about 8 amps. Connect the furnace directly to the generator thru an ex cord. You may not have enough power for many lights. If you have CF flourscent bulbs use them instead, they do not need as much power. Ask more questions.

• reliabilityman
    Original Author
    17 years ago