Return to the Web Authoring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help on starting my own WEB site

Posted by SteveC50 (My Page) on
Tue, Dec 17, 02 at 0:05

Do any of you have your own web site w/ domain name? I'm thinking of getting my own domain name and a 5 page web site. It's going to cost me $20 US a month (I think!). Is there anything I should know before I shell out any money? This will be my own Web address and not a web page on a site.
Thanks for any help,
Steve C.
PS. I'm new to this and don't know HTML code. The site that I went to is the only one I've looked at and linked below.

Here is a link that might be useful: VeriSign- the home page for domain names

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help on starting my own WEB site

For a 5 page web site, it should cost you much less than $20 per month for web hosting. Domain registration can be much less than $35 per year.

What is the purpose of your web site? Will you need a shopping cart? How much disk storage will you need? How busy do you think your web site will be? If you don't know html, how will you create and maintain your web site? Do you know how to use FTP? Frontpage? Do you want a Unix based or Windows based server?

The above are just some of the things to consider as you shop around for web host. If you search google "web hosting", you will get thousands of web host. Some are actually companies with the hardware/software, some are re-sellers. If you can give us some more info, we can give better answers.

Dan

o
Starting my own WEB site?

Thanks for the response Dan. Hope I can answer some of your questions.
1. My web site wil be about the computer crafts that I make, for one thing. Custom candy bar wrappers for weddings, birthdays and holidays. Custom clocks (faces) and photo restoration will also be on the site.
2. I won't be needing a shopping cart. People will Email me directly to discuss what it is that they want.