Return to the Web Authoring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My Web Page

Posted by Mike_G_ (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 25, 05 at 23:58

I have very little experience writing web pages. I am retired and got into computers just a few years ago. Mostly self taught. I wrote the icon page a few years ago.

My page was done this spring. It is written in notepad. All graphics except one email gif (on icon page) are mine. I had a friend show me a few basic things and how to upload it.

If any one has time let me know how I did.

Mike G

Here is a link that might be useful: My Web Page

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My Web Page

Hi from the other side of the pond

Just thought you would like to know that your web pages work OK on a Unix box as I have just had a look at them with a Netscape engined browser.

Keep up the good work

o

Congratulations Mike. I am impressed!

o

Very good. The main thing I would add is a META description since that text is displayed in some search engines, and will help them to classify you.

o

Richard not sure how and where to put that in.

Mike G

o

Mike, right mouse click on this forum page and view the source. Right at the top is an example. You already have some of the meta tags, this is just one more. <META NAME="description" CONTENT=" This forum is provided for the discussion of issues involved in creating Web pages using HTML. By the way, HTML stands for Hypertext Markup Language, and not, Hope This Monster Loads!">

o

Thanks Richard I am in the process of some changes now. When I am done I will upload some meta names

Mike G

o

g'day mike,

pretty good hey, i started my own page around 7 years ago very basic simple beginning learnt much along the way, learnt HTML the hard way i reckon.