Return to the Web Authoring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
pdf files

Posted by marilynwho (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 14, 06 at 16:55

Can someone please tell me about pdf files. Do I need special software to create them? Are they flat files or do they need to be formatted in some way?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: pdf files

I'm no expert but most of the newer versions of graphic software can convert any document you create into a pdf file. I guess you can consider them flat when you receive them, unless you have the full version of Adobe Acrobat (not just Acrobat Reader). With Acrobat you can open up, break apart and rework the file. I've heard that depending on the changes you need to make some of the larger graphic programs let you edit out some components (I think I heard that Illustrator lets you edit text line by line).

The biggest misconception I've encountered is that if you are building a document to be printed or published you will need to make sure the printing press runs the same level and version of Acrobat that you have. If you are using a lower version of the program and they are using a newer and higher level of program, certain things won't translate well and your printing job will require more effort to make it work. They like to refer to pdf's as the most portable format for documents but presses still struggle with them.

o

I am web designer for our church. The secretary creates documents in pdf. I thought I should be able to link to them. However, I cannot open the files on my computer. I haven't worked with pdf files at all so I am confused.

o