Return to the Web Authoring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Posting Music

Posted by Wanda_Illinois (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 25, 03 at 9:54

I was hoping that someone could tell me how to post music on a message board. I am new to this, but I have finally learned how to post pictures.
To post music, do you need to have it downloaded somewhere, or can you link to a midi site?
Also, is it possible to embed music in your email, I have aol. I have put music in my email as an attachment, but would like to have it play when opened.
I don't know if this is the correct forum to post this, if not, could someone tell me which forum could help me.
Thanks, Wanda

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Posting Music

No, in fact, it is not possible to post music to a forum or email music. First of all you need to create an mp3 and even so the file size is too big for email. I did once email an mp3, but it was only 6 seconds long, because if it is longer the file size is too big for the server. You are thinking about file sharing music which is actually not really safe in my opinion, but there are a number of music sharing sites that you can use. Kazaa is the most popular right now. If you want to ask further about file sharing music, the computer help forum is the place to post that quesiton.

o

Hi Wanda, yes, you can post music to these forums and your e-mail (depending on which program you use). I'm at work right now, but later tonight when I'm at home I'll post the code you need to put music with your post. I'll also give you directions on including music with your e-mails when using OE.
I wouldn't suggest mp3's as they are way too big, but most people use midi files for this purpose.

o

please post the super secret midi code !!! thanks

o

The Embed code for Netscape looks like this:

<embed src="song.mid" WIDTH=145 HEIGHT=60 autostart=true loop=true>

If you just want the play and stop buttons to show, use the code like this: