Return to the Web Authoring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
image on web page

Posted by JudyS_Ont (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 8, 02 at 18:58

I am just starting to learn web pages. I tried to build a page using my allotted free space provided by my DSL provider.
It said you could build a page in just minutes using their 'QuickStart'and 'Quicktools'. (ha,ha)
All I did was upload a picture (37kb) from my hard drive but it comes up a red x in a box. I've seen in other forums what causes this but I didn't take note.
Can you help?
Judy

Here is a link that might be useful: my page(?)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: image on web page

I think the problem you have is that you don't have .jpg (or other image extention) at end of your picture. If you right click on the red x box and select properties (IE) then you will see that it does not have the extention. Usually when you get that box instead of the picture, it's either picture is not where it is suppose to be or the link to the picture is not correct.

Dan

o

thanks Dan,
I am at work now. I will check it out when I get home.
Judy

o

hmmm....
The file on my hard drive has jpeg as an extention and that is where I uploaded it from. Did I forget to do something else?
Judy

o

Judy,

Try to change your image so that it has .jpg as the extention instead of .jpeg

DoubleM

o

DoubleM,

thanks, I will try that when I get home.

One thing I should have mentioned before-I uploaded the same image once before and it also had an x at first. When I went back there about 3 weeks later it was the image I had uploaded. It was way too big so I deleted it and replaced it with a smaller version. That is when I had the dreaded 'red x in a box' back again.

Don't know if this makes sense.

Judy

o

I tried renaming to jpg and it still didn't work. :-(
Judy

o

Started over. Not sure what happened to my original page, but I'm learning.
Check it out.
Judy

Here is a link that might be useful: my new page

o

Looks good Judy.

The other Judy!

o

thanks,