Return to the Web Authoring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what do you use to create web pages?

Posted by mildmay1 (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 2, 02 at 22:33

I just registered a domain name and got a year's worth of webhosting too, a 25 meg site. I presently have a car club webpage with Geocities, and learned to use their advanced editor where you write the code yourself. So I do have a fair bit of experience there but have never actually created a website from scratch. So I have a nice learning curve coming up!

What program can someone recommend that's not for a complete newbie but still user friendly? A friend of mine used Cute HTML so I have downloaded it today, so I haven't got in a lot of time with it yet.

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what do you use to create web pages?

Dont care what anyone says but you cant beat Front Page 2000-2002 for being easy to use. You can change the coding in the html view to anything you want. I even made a java script page that blue screens my puter with FP. Dont try this at home folks as i had to reinstall FP to get it working again.

JamesS

o

If you have Netscape on you pc you might try Netscape Composer. That is what I learned on and it took me about 5 minutes to learn. If you can use a word processor, you can use the Composer.
MaryAnn

o

I dont have Netscape, is it possible to get just the composer part? I dont need two browsers!

o

mildmay,

If you go to this site and click on the HTML : DHTML : JAVA link you will find a link to FrontPage Express which is a free download.

HTH

DoubleM

o

Composer comes with the browser. If you are making webpages it is a good idea to have 2 browsers so you can see how your page is viewed on both. I only use IE here at home, but have Netscape on my pc just for that reason.
MaryAnn

o

I use Visual InterDev.

--JoJo

o