Return to the Web Authoring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
why cant people see photos on my website?

Posted by mildmay1 (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 8, 02 at 15:30

I am a newbie at making a website from scratch, altho I have one with geocities.com that works very well and I understand how to use their Advanced Editor. I recently got my own domain name and put up a small website about my husband's business. I can see all of it and it's the way I planned it but two friends plus my son cant see any of the pix or graphics on their machines! One uses an ancient Netscape version, one uses IE, and my son had win98se and IE 5.5 on his machine.

Can anyone suggest why the pix would not show up? All you get is the outline box and the small red X in the top left corner.

I used CuteHTML for part of it and Front Page Express for part, so perhaps that's the problem? Why did I do that? Because I was mainly fiddling around to see which program I liked better (CuteHTML.)

Is there a way to check how your website works using various browsers?

Thanks in advance
Mildmay1

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: why cant people see photos on my website?

Mildmay1,

If you will give me the URL of your web site, I'll see if I can help

DoubleM

o

mildmay,
It sounds like you can see the pictures because they are stored on your hard drive. When I upload my webpages to the server with one program all I have to do is upload the page and all files are automatically uploaded with it. But the other program I use I have to upload the webpage and then upload each graphic file that is on the page. If you will let us know the address for your webpage someone will be able to tell you what the problem is.
MaryAnn

o

Thanks for the replies. The URL is www.thetouchupguy.ca. It's the very beginning of a work in progress, there's not a lot there yet, I am still in the fiddling about stage.

Thanks for any help. I used SmartFTP to upload the pages.

o