Return to the Web Authoring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
E-commerce options?

Posted by jenn (My Page) on
Wed, Feb 28, 07 at 23:18

My niece asked for my help in creating a web site for her to sell the beaded jewelry she makes. If it is feasible, she'd like it to have e-commerce capability like PayPal.

She asked me to help her with this because I created my own web site. However, I created it with HTML and Notepad, no fancy web design tools -- and I have no experience in setting up e-commerce. I promised her I would look into it to find out what needs to be done, and if it will be feasible for me to do.

Where do I begin? Does anyone know where to start, what to do?

Thanks,
Jen

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: E-commerce options?

Many good hosting companies include e-commerce/shopping cart suites at no extra charge. Some do cost extra. Miva merchant is one of them.

o

Thank you. Her friend offered to host it for her and it seems that he didn't mention including an e-commerce feature.

o

I would highly recommend hosting with a professional hosting company and not a friend. While anyone can host their own sites with a home pc and broadband connection, however money is at stake and control and reliability is a must for a business website.

o

Jenn,

is this something close to what she is looking for ?

Jenn's Nieces Jewelry Store

To be honest, if she only has a few items to sell, you can probably make her a storefront and use paypal purchase buttons without the need for content management and payment gateways, but if something like this is more to her liking and need, let me know and I would be glad to help.

o

sorry forgot to add the link to it.

it is OScommerce and available free at http://oscommerce.com/

o

PayPal is a great place to start. There are low costs involved and lots of instructions provided.

If she wants to grow, I'd look into Yahoo Stores for a non-techy good store. But that has much more expense involved.

o