Return to the Web Authoring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I'm trying to learn about webmaking

Posted by Indiana_Ivy (My Page) on
Tue, Jan 7, 03 at 23:44

I am trying to learn on my own, but would like to have a few pointers. I am a photographer, so, am trying to do a photography page, I have been using bravenet for some codes for my page, this is what I have done so far, please tell me what you think,ok?

Char, I like your photographypage, it looks very nice.

Indiana Ivy

Here is a link that might be useful: Indiana Ivy's photography page

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I'm trying to learn about webmaking

Ivy -
For starters ... the plural of photo is photos (not photo's).

You have way too many gadgets on the page ... if you want a bird picture site, don't put up anything that is not a picture of a bird. I see two birds, one game and several places that are asking for my email address and those of my friends.

Try www.htmlhelp.org for really good tips and links to tutorials.

http://www.useit.com/alertbox/ for great advice on usability and site design.

and websitesthatsuck.com (yes, it's for real) to examples of what not to do.

The background color is a ghastly purplish-pink that reminds me of pepto-bismol mixed with a bit of grape Kool-aid. With the bright blue text, it's like trying to read gang grafitti.
Something on the page keeps trying to get me to load a plug-in ... I assume you have somekind of a sound file tryng to play. If you had sound files of bird calls that the user could CHOOSE to listen to, that would be great.

o

Gee.......thanks Lazygardens........I think !

Indiana

o