Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redsun9

Public Broadcast TV Channels

I'm behind with the technologies so here I need some help.

We had Comcast TV before. Since we do not watch TV much and cable TV costs a bunch, we cancelled it.

Our flat panel TV is HD digital, with UHF/VHF and CATV 1-135. No separate antenna.

On my computer, I have a NTSC/ATSC Combo TV tuner, with a small antenna. I believe it can also receive QAM.

So what do I need to receive public broadcasting TV channels, like CBS, NBC, ABC and Fox?

Right now when I connect my digital TV or computer tuner card to the Comcast cable connection, nothing comes out. I think all channels are scrambled. Should the QAM channels be carried by Comcast? Do I need a set top box for this? Or any box would not be legal?

Other than the existing Comcast connection, is a separate antenna the only way to go to receive the public TV channels?

I'm a noob now with the digital TV....

Comments (7)

• jeff-1010
    9 years ago

all tv is now has a digital format and your tv is set up to receive it. i think you're confusing hd programs with standard digital programs. hd tv, you pay extra. so if you didn't subscribe to hd. then no show. look in the tv listings or go to your program guide for local stations to locate the channels not listed as hd. also, some locations don't carry local channels. and if they do sometimes you have to pay extra.

the antenna on your pc i think is the wireless router for wy fy.

your cable box is your antenna , so to speak. so you don't need an antenna. if comcast doesn't carry network tv, i think you can hook up a set of rabbit ears, i think.
    btw, the guy that installed your cable should have made all the required connections and showed you how to drive it.
    don't feel like a noob(?) technology changes faster than most people can keep up. i hope this helps, if not, you can go to any elementary school for advice.

• RedSun (Zone 6, NJ)
    Original Author
    9 years ago