Return to the Home Entertainment Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
help! how do i set up av equipment in a built-in?

Posted by ecdiskin (My Page) on
Fri, Dec 24, 10 at 6:01

I'm not a professional designer or expert on AV equipment and I fear I've created a big problem! I wanted the look of a built-in for my tv/av equipment and spent big bucks to have it made, and now I'm sitting here in a panic b/c I'm wondering how I deal with wiring the components! I realize that we can set pieces in place and get them all hooked up before we push furniture completely into place, but once the basetrim is on and it's truely become "built-in" how do I add or replace a component in the future? It's not big enough that I can actually "climb in" and manipulate cords on the back of components. Is it assumed that you basically have to de-construct the piece somewhat in order to get to the back where all the cords are when these issues arise, or do I just get extra long cords before doing initial set up so that I can pull out AUX unit, for example (the hub) from the front and manipulate wiring that way?! I'm feeling like a big idiot not to have worried about this before...but it's done, so what now?!!! ANy help would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: help! how do i set up av equipment in a built-in?

Actually, your situation is much more common than you think. Hopefully though, whoever built it for you has some experience with constructing to allow for passage of cables between the equipment. If not, you will most likely need to invest in a hole saw kit, at minimum, to provide openings to pass the cables through.