Return to the Home Entertainment Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
questions about receivers...

Posted by mdmomof3 (My Page) on
Mon, May 25, 09 at 14:23

Sorry, but I am a bit tech unsavy and I am not sure if I am getting fleeced by the company doing the install. (Yes I have trust issues).
We are building and have gotten 3 quotes for whole house wiring and a theater room. They ranged from 18k to 30k and I cant tell the difference. We are getting whole house audio, with 6 zones (just the controls with volume), 7.1 theater set up, and a exercise room wired separate with an ipod dock.
So far, the recs are for a Denon AVR-3808CI, AVR 1901 or a Yamaha RXV663 receiver. There are all considerably different in price but no one will tell me what is the biggest bang for the buck. My husband is not tech savy either, so we just need and on/off switch and the ability to play movies, CDs and listen to the radio. The installer say that we can purcharse our own compenents but seem to push towards the more expensive, not sure we need all of the options since we wont be using them anytime soon.
Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: questions about receivers...

Go with the Yamaha - they probably get more commission on the higher end components. Stay away from Harman Kardon - they seem to have reliability issues.

o

thanx for the help. yamaha it is.

o

I'm a little late to this party, but some receivers are better at music, some better at theater.

For music and home theater, I think the Denon is a better all around product. It does both very well.

o

I think Denon receivers tend to have a brighter sound, while Yamahas are more mellow and subtle, but you can't go wrong with either, both are great brands.

o