Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tiamaria_gw

Internet direct bookshelf speakers

tiamaria
16 years ago

I am looking for a 5.1 speaker system for my large great room. It has cathedral ceilings which is a problem.

I looked at Bose, and they sound good to me but I think they are over priced.

I have to apologize. I posted a similar question and it is not appearing on the list so I think it was lost somehow.

I hope I'm not duplicating a question.

I was hoping someone had experience with some of the internet companies that sell bookshelf speakers.

I am not looking for earth shaking sound but

enhanced music and dialog I can actually hear.

I plan on getting a sub-woofer but it won't be what most audio folks desire. This is my family room not the theater room.

Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tia

Comments (6)

• steve_o
    16 years ago

I have no experience with such speakers, but I would make sure that any speakers I bought unheard could be returned within, say, a month, for any reason short of outright abuse, preferably with the vendor footing the tab for shipping.

• tiamaria
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Steve:

The company's that seem to be getting good reviews have a 30 - 45 day return policy. Right now I am very interested in the SVS speakers. They have had the best response to all my questions. Covered every aspect of the project and have a lot of confidence in their product.

I will need a receiver so I'm just beginning to learn about them. I'm perplexed over the features and whether I will know what to do with it all. I'm going to do a search to see if I can learn what "upconverting" is and HDMi capablities means. I have an HDMi display so I should consider this.

Thanks
    TM

• Stocky
    16 years ago

Hi , Most ID ( iternet direct )companies provide you with a 30 day in home listening option. You can return them without any questions asked. Most require you to pay the return shipping .