Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mechengmajor

Do you have a home entertainment system?

mechengmajor
17 years ago

Hey, I am a Mechanical Engineer college student. I need some help. I need this survey (below) completed for one of my classes.

Answers would be greatly appreciated! :)

Thank you.

1. How many speakers does your sound system, excluding the subwoofer, contain (if you donÂt have one, how many speakers does the system you like or want to get have)?

a. 2

b. 3

c. 4

d. 5

e. 6

f. 7

g. More than 7

2. If so, Approximately how much did it cost to install your sound system including all speakers?

a. Less than $100

b. Between $100 - $200

c. Between $200 - $300

d. Between $300 - $400

e. More than $400

3. If so, Approximately what size are the individual speakers (length x width x height)?

a. Smaller than 7 x 7 x 10 inches

b. Larger than 7 x 7 x 10 inches

4. Could cutting squares of drywall out of the ceiling be a part of the installation as long as it was substituted for in the final product? If yes, would you be willing to do the cutting yourself or would you want to hire a professional to do it?

a. No

b. Yes; I would do the cutting myself

c. Yes; I would hire a professional

5. What size home do you have?

a. One-story

b. Two-story

c. More than two-story

6. Do you have a full-sized attic?

a. Yes

b. No

Comments (4)

• fourwheelin
    17 years ago

1. 5 speakers for the main system in a 5.1 channel arrangement. Why do I do this over the 7.1 channel? There is so little media available to use 7.1 channel vs. the more entrenched 5.1 DVD/SACD media being produced.
    2. There can be no benchmark price for audio, do to the wide field of manufacturers. Current system, I have not yet fully purchased or installed...will cost $4k+ for just the "main" audio listening room, not the whole house package.