Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fandlil

lcd large screen tv

fandlil
16 years ago

We are considering getting a very large screen LCD TV, 50 inches or larger. We would go all the way and get the highest grade HD so that we can enjoy all the latest broadcasts and DVDs in HD when they become available and the technology issues have been settled. We're not sure we need surround sound yet, but would like the option of adding it later.

Anyone with experience they would like to share?

Comments (8)

• sniffdog
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

haus

After many years of waiting, we finally went completely digital this weekend. We purchased a Sony 50 inch LCD HDTV and it is wonderful. Note that I have been reciveing digital signals for many years through my satellite receiver but playing them on a standard definition TV (and I will tell you - that was not so bad!). But now I have a HDTV and playing HD content on this thing looks fantastic.

I am not sure what technology issues you are referring to - I think the digital TV technology is pretty stable now. There is still the looming issue of High Def content - but if you get satellite or cable, the number of HD channels is growing by the month. Right now I can get all the major networks who broadcast most of their programs in High Def, ESPN, Discover, etc - quite a few. Expect to pay more for these channels - I pay an additional 20 bucks per month to get the HD channels with Dishnet.

Here are some tips from my experience: