Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Any Nurses out there??

Posted by TriangleJohn (johnbuettner@hotmail.com) on
Thu, Nov 3, 05 at 12:02

I need some help fast.

My father fell off the roof and broke his neck and a few ribs. He's 78 years old.

He's in the hospital and at first they expected a complete recovery, now the story has changed and there are complications.

I have family members there at his bedside just about 24 hours a day but they are confused and concerned about the care he is receiving. I am getting out there as soon as possible (could be days). Everyone is hoping I can make sense of the situation. What they really want is someone to review his chart and make sure everything is being done. There have been some oversights that make my mom and sister worry that they are going to have to closely monitor everything to make sure it is done correctly and on time. It is a worrysome situation. I am no doctor, I've never even seen a patients chart so I don't know what help I can offer on that front.

Any advice?

He has minor fractures in the vertebrae of his neck and upper back, a few ribs, his collar bone and his sternum. None of this requires surgery. They've said it could takes up to 12 weeks to heal.

He has developed pneumonia and a blood infection while there as well as an irregular heartbeat. He is in ICU at the moment but we fear they will move him back out onto the main floor at any moment. The care he recieves in ICU is far better than what he got originally.

One oversight was with feeding. He couldn't keep any food down so they suggested iv feeding but no one started it til his 10th day. After my sister pointed it out to the doctor he made a notation on the chart and since then his situation has improved. All this makes her wonder what other treatments have been overlooked.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Any Nurses out there??