Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
High Cholesterol help

Posted by michelle2_grow (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 23, 10 at 17:37

Today I've been told my total cholesterol is 288 ....so much to know about the numbers ?? Should I be worried, I'm not over weight...I do smoke, should I go on lipitor like he suggested or try and control it myself....also would quitting smoking greatly reduce the level ? Any help ...please, I'm new to all this and slightly freaked out !

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: High Cholesterol help

Yes your total cholesterol is on the high side, But more important is the ratio of LDL (bad cholesterol) to HDL (good cholesterol)and you don't state that

I would try to control it first with food and then have another test in a few months and see if you are on the right track. You can always go on the meds if it doesn't. I hate taking any meds so I tend to try other methods first as long as there is reasonable science for them.

Foods that have animal fats are what raises cholesterol.

Try to eat meats that are lower in fat like lean ground beef, chicken and turkey with the skin and fat removed and fish (more about fish later) This doesn't mean if you enjoy a particular favorite you should cut it out altogether. That is one sure way not to stick to any way of eating. Have your favorite, just not as often.

Drink skim milk--I think it tastes better than 2% or whole milk. We switched when my husband was told he had high cholesterol and I drink more milk than I did before. Eat lower fat cheeses and low fat cottage cheese. The lower fat cheese tend to be the harder cheeses not the creamy ones.

Foods that lower your cholesterol--

Oatmeal--if you don't like oatmeal try oat bran. It's easy to sprinkle some on cereal or mix in muffins, cookies or most baking. I even like it on yogurt or frozen yogurt as a topping.