Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
cough, sneeze, cough, sneeze.......

Posted by ruthann (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 1, 06 at 1:25

Hi, Cough and sneeze, that's me. I have been doing this for a couple years or more. I have tried many sinus meds, had a chest xray and cat scan of the sinus's . 2 weeks of steriods stops it, but it comes back when I am done with the med. I am on my 2nd allergist. Now he thinks I have non-symtomatic asthma. I breathe fine. Nothing hurts. Smells, (perfume, candles, cigarette smoke, and other strong smells) set me off. A couple nights ago I didn't get much sleep cause I coughed most of the night. Oh, I also had allergy tests. Nothing. Anyone have any idea whats up? Now I am on Singulair and an inhaler. What's next? Sometimes I cough so much my chest hurts.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: cough, sneeze, cough, sneeze.......

Sometimes the body simply gets very sensitive to particles in the air. It's not exactly an allergic reaction, it's more like a tickle and irritation by something you breathe in. It's going to be very hard to eliminate everything in your house/bedroom that will set you off. Start with your bedroom and eliminate the things that may be harboring dust particles like drapes, fancy pillows, and duvets. Wipe down everything as best you can. Give it a couple of clean days and see if you sleep better. Use a damp mop on the floors if you don't have carpets. If it seems to help, and you have carpets, think about getting rid of them.

For this first extra clean dust eliminating cleaning, if you can get someone to help you, it would be very good. It might even be worthwhile to get an air filtering system for your bedroom. If you can clean up where you sleep, then it will help ease things for you for the rest of the day.

don't use perfumes, bath powders or soaps that have a fragrance. Be careful about what kind of detergent you use in the washer. No softening sheets either. No air fresheners.